A few weeks (days?) ago I was talking to one of our staff members here at YWAM ¡Hola! – Ciudad de México about the importance of facilitating a good outreach experience for the many teams we’ve been #verythankfully receiving lately, and the positive impact in their lives when we invest in our relationships with them.

– I’m thankful that the Lord is allowing me to have a good outreach-relationship experience with these teams – he said – since during my own outreach the relationships among our people wasn’t very rewarding. Don’t get me wrong, my DTS and Outreach were great! But as my main focus was on my experience with the Lord, my relationships with the members of team were on a second term.

– As I’ve hear somebody say «I came for the experience but I stayed for the relationships!» I think this is the essence of what we do! – I replied.

– Yeah… But I’m here because of God’s invitation and not for the relationships though.

I didn’t know what to say so I decided to keep a poker face as the face expressions control master I am #yeahright and leave my response for later on perhaps in two or three decades.


«DISCIPLESHIP DOESN’T TAKE PLACE WITHOUT RELATIONSHIP»


His statement sounded horribly right. Nothing better that having people with us because the Lord called them! And not for their particular agenda, or the always present interest in someone. However, and even after some days still it didn’t feel right. It took me a couple of therapy sessions days to finally word out my thoughts. I found the son of God guy, and explain my thoughts…

– Look, son of a beloved Father in heaven I’m here for the Lord of course, but I’m also here for you. I’m here for you and for specific relationships at the base too.

I said that because throughout the years I find out that discipleship doesn’t take place without relationship.

Knowing the Word of God will always bring fruit, and that’s true. But even Jesus set some time apart for the disciples to explain the parables, pray for them, eat with them, wash their stinky feet, and take them to parties all around #ForReal! That’s because discipleship requires time, walk and talk, and trust. This is the real investment into somebody’s life.

We all may have a God given assignation that fits our gifts and personalities, but as a friend says: the Kingdom of God is build from generation to generation; and … moves forward with friends.

Thanks Jesus for all my friends out there!